If you receive an OVI conviction in Ohio, you stand a good chance of having your driver’s license suspended. Guardian Interlock explains that Ohio law requires the court to suspend your license if your conviction resulted from a blood alcohol content of 0.08% or higher. You will need to install an ignition interlock system on your vehicle – at your own expense – in order to get your license back.
For a first-offense OVI conviction, you face the following penalties:
- Jail sentence of from three days to six months
- Fine of from $375 to $1,075
- Completion of a driver’s intervention program
- An alcohol and/or drug assessment and enrollment in an appropriate treatment program
- License suspension of from six months to three years
You may be eligible for restricted limited driving privileges after six months if you install an ignition interlock system.
Second OVI conviction penalties
If you receive a second OVI conviction in Ohio, this still represents only a misdemeanor, but your possible penalties increase. Now you can expect to spend between 10 days and six months in jail. and your fine likely will range between $525 and $1,625. Your alcohol/drug assessment now becomes mandatory, as does your participation in a treatment program. In addition, you face possible house arrest and/or continuous alcohol monitoring, as well as a 90-day impoundment of your vehicle and its plates.
As for your driver’s license, the court will suspend it for a minimum of one year and a maximum of five years. After the first year, you may become eligible for restricted limited driving privileges if you install an ignition interlock system.